GTBank/Ogun Principals Cup

Alamuwa Boys Grammar School, Ado-Odo have won the maiden edition of the GTBank/Ogun State Principals Cup after managing a lone-goal victory over hard-fighting Remo Divisional High School, Sagamu.

The encounter at the MKO Abiola Stadium in Abeokuta was witnessed by Ogun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun, his wife Olufunso, Commissioner for Youth and Sports, Gbenga Otenuga and other top government functionaries.

Samson Oke’s goal within ten minutes of the second half was all Alamuwa Grammar School needed as they defended the lone-goal lead throughout the encounter. The winners pocketed the ultimate prize of N1m courtesy of Guaranty Trust Bank Plc, while RDHS got N750,000. Third-placed team Adeola Odutola College, Ijebu-Ode received N500,000.

Orile Ilugun Girls Comprehensive High School, Odeda defeated Our Lady of Apostle, Ijebu-Ode 2-0 to win the girls’ category of the competition, taking home N1m and the trophy.  

In the first semi-final match, Alamuwa Grammar School dismissed Adesanolu Community High School, Mowe by a lone goal scored by Sulaimon Adams in the late minutes of the thrilling encounter. Remo Divisional High School, Sagamu recorded a similar result against Adeola Odutola College, Ijebu-Ode in the second semi-final match with Victor Sukanmi’s second half goal separating the two sides.

It was a different story for Remo Divisional High School in the girls’ category of the tournament as they suffered a 1-0 defeat in the hands of Our Lady of Apostle, Ijebu-Ode. The goal was scored by Tobi Tiamiyu in second half of the semi-final match. Orile Ilugun High School, which will face Remo Divisional High School in the final, defeated Community High School Abule-Iroko 2-1 in the second semi-final.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *